Week 1 

Thursday Aug 27

Reading: Graphic Design History 

Introduction: Reading Graphic Design History pg. ix-xxix

Chapter 1: From Prehistory to Early Writing 35,00-500 BCE pg. 3-13


Week 2

Tuesday Sept 1

In Class Lecture:

Chapter 1: – Continued…

Chapter 2: Classical Literacy 700 BCE-400 CE pg. 17-29

Thursday Sept 3

Due: Outline of Chapters 1, 2, & 3

 

Reading: Graphic Design History

Chapter 3: Medieval Letterforms &  Book Formats 400-1250 pg. 33-53

 


Week 3

Tuesday Sept 8

In Class Lecture Chapter 3

In Class Lecture Chapter 4

Reading: Graphic Design History 

Chapter 4: Renaissance Design: Standardization and Modularization in Print 1450-1660 pg. 57-79

 

Homework: Read & Outline Chapter 5

Thursday Sept 10

Due outline of Chapter 4

Due outline of Chapter 5

In Class Lecture Chapter 5

Reading: Graphic Design History

Chapter 5: Modern Typography & the Creation of the Public Sphere 1660-1800 pg. 83-103

Homework: Read & Review chapters 1-5


Week 4

Tuesday Sept 15

 In class Review : Chapters 1-5

Thursday Sept 17

Exam: 1 Prehistory (Chapter 1) to Modern Typography (Chapter 5)

Reading: Graphic Design History 

Homework – Chapter 6: The Graphic Effects of Industrial Production 1800-1850 pg. 107-125

Homework: Read & Outline Chapter 6

 


Week 5

Tuesday Sept 22

Due outline of Chapter 6

In Class Lecture Chapter 6

Reading: Graphic Design History

Chapter 7: Mass Mediation 1850-1900s pg. 129-147

Homework: Read & Outline Chapter 7

 

Thursday Sept 24

Due outline of Chapter 7

In Class Lecture Chapter 7

Reading: Graphic Design History 

Chapter 8: Formations of the Modern Movement 1800s-1910s pg. 151-171

Homework: Read & Outline Chapter 8


Week 6

Tuesday Sept 29

Due outline of Chapter 8

In Class Lecture Chapter 8

Reading: Graphic Design History

Chapter 9: Innovation & Persuasion 1910s-1930 pg. 175-197

Homework: Read & Outline Chapter 9

 

Thursday Oct 1

Due outline of Chapter 9

In Class Lecture Chapter 9

Reading: Graphic Design History 

Homework Review Chapters 6-9


 Week 7

Tuesday Oct 6

In class review 6-9

Thursday Oct 8

Exam: 2  (Chapter 6) to (Chapter 9)


Week 8

Tuesdays Oct 13

Reading: Graphic Design History

Chapter 10: The Culture of Consumption 1920s-1930s pg. 201-219

Homework: Read & Outline Chapter 10

Thursday Oct 15

Due outline of Chapter 10

In class lecture chapter 10

Reading: Graphic Design History

Chapter 11: Public Interest Campaigns & Information Design pg. 223-243

Homework: Read & Outline Chapter 11

Due outline of Chapter 11

In class lecture chapter 11

Reading: Graphic Design History

Chapter 12: Corporate Identities & International Style pg. 247-265

Homework: Read & Outline Chapter 12


Week 9

Tuesday Oct 20

Due outline of Chapter 12

In class lecture chapter 12

Reading: Graphic Design History

Chapter 13: Pop & Protest pg. 269-285

Homework: Read & Outline Chapter 13

Thursday Oct 22

Due outline of Chapter 13

In class lecture chapter 13

Homework Review Chapters 10-13


Week 10

Tuesday October 27

In class lecture chapter 13

Homework Review Chapters 10-13

Thursday October 29

Review chapter 10 -13


Week 11

Tuesday Nov 3

Exam: 3  (Chapter 10) to (Chapter 13)

Reading: No More Rules Graphic Design and Postmodernism

Intro & Chapter 1: Origins

Reading: No More Rules Graphic Design and Postmodernism

Chapter 2: Deconstruction pg.38-69

Thursday  Nov 5

Reading: No More Rules Graphic Design and Postmodernism

Chapter 3: Appropriation pg.70-95


Week 12

Tuesday Nov 10

Reading: No More Rules Graphic Design and Postmodernism

Chapter 2: Deconstruction pg.38-69

Thursday  Nov 12

Reading: No More Rules Graphic Design and Postmodernism

Chapter 4: Techno pg.96-117


Week 13

Tuesday Nov 17

Reading: No More Rules Graphic Design and Postmodernism

Chapter 3: Appropriation pg.70-95

Thursday Nov 19

Reading: No More Rules Graphic Design and Postmodernism

Chapter 5: Authorship pg.148-171


Week 14

Tuesday Nov 24 ( last day of in person class )

Thursday 

Reading: No More Rules Graphic Design and Postmodernism

Chapter 6: Opposition pg.118-147

Review of Post Modernism: Practice & Concepts


Week 15

Tuesday Dec 1

no lecture, individual meeting times available

Thursday Dec 3

Exam 4: No More Rules – Take home – DUE


Final paper due Friday December 11th